Frequently Asked Questions
As questions arise throughout the life of Dungeon Crawler ECG we will be keeping all FAQs here for easy reference.
As always our best resource is our forums, please check there for answers regarding specific cards and attributes.
Q: Ok first off what damage type do adventures do without any card added to the attacking step?
A: By default Adventurers do Melee (harm), if they are unequipped. If they become equipped with a Crawler card, they take on the Crawler card's attributes. August 28th, 2010
Activate vs Lock
Q: What is the difference and reason behind 10' Pit Trap just saying +1 lock target and 20' Pit Trap saying Activate and +1 lock Target? I thought if the character or Adventure is locked they can't activate so why put activate then lock on the card? O one more thing a Adventure can be locked more than one time at the same time? right? You would just take one lock token off every round.
A: The Lock and Activate will take your Adventurer out of the picture for longer than just the Lock or Activate. When you Activate and Lock an Adventurer, they can only Unlock or Reset at the end of the Round, not both. So Round 1 is brutal while you're locked, and Round 2 is annoying cause you still can't Attack/Defend, but you can at least contribute your resources again. Yes. Multiple Locks can be put on an Adventurer - and only 1 comes off at the end of each Round. August 28th, 2010
Area 2 - Boosted
Q: How does this work exactly?
A: When the Adventurers attack with Area 2 they just need to meet or overcome the Dungeon's defenses, if they succeed they can then choose 2 different targets instead of 1 (stealth still counts).
When the Dungeon attacks with Area 2, the Adventurers must defend the first two Adventurers from that attack. So let's take the Goblin and a Fire Stream Rune Trap... the first Adventurer must meet or beat 5 Power (goblin + fire trap), while the second Adventurer must meet or beat only 3 Power (the fire trap).
Note:: when you are defending you must Activate at least one Adventurer to do so. So, in the case of Area 2 both defenses require having an Adventurer defend. August 28th, 2010
Counter Attack vs Drain
Q: When I am attacked by a Creature with Drain, and want to use Counter Attack, which effect happens first?
A: Triggered Attributes on a card in play occur first. Unless a card that is put in play like a Disruption card which can "undo" or interrupt an event or a card specifically states that it interrupts an event. May 7th, 2016
Q: Dungeon is attacking with this creature: 2/0 (fire), 1/0 (melee) I only activate 3 adventurers for a total of 3 stamina. Can I defend by doing so? Or do i need *fire stamina* to defend against the fire damage?
A: Yes, you would defend. If you had something that negated fire or harm, that portion of the attack would be negated, but the other portion would still need to be defended against. August 28th, 2010
Elite vs Rushed
Q: I have Elite in play (Skill, Permanent), my hand limit is 7 cards. Now during the encounter step the following card comes into play: Rushed (Event) which says "Can not use skills". Does that mean that I can't bring a new skill into play this encounter? But does this also mean, that I can not longer use Elite?
A: You'll check your permanents in step 4, assuming that Rushed has left play in step 7, you can keep it in play. You will only not be able to put more skills in to play, or spend a skill like brawling. May 1st, 2012
Q: Target Adventurer cannot access their highest Resource. If the Adventurer has two high scores of equal value, it will be the Source furthest to the left. If I have a permanent that relies on the highest resource does that permanent go to the grave right away or during which step?
A: Check your resources at step 4 for permanents. May 1st, 2012
Q: Does the Evil Altar prevent you from boosting the Adventurers? The card states that only Evil Magic cards can be boosted.
A: Correct. The only thing that can be boosted while Evil Altar is in play must be Evil and must be Magic. August 28th, 2010.
Q: Also Flight in order to hit something with that ability do I have to add a card with ranged or something?
A: Flight ignores terrain effects, but no any attack can hit a Character/Adventurer with Flight. Some terrain or other cards give character/adventurers with flight bonuses or penalties. August 28th, 2010.
Q: Adventurers are attacking; 3 adventurers activated plus equipment with +2 fire total of 5 power (3 melee harm + 2 fire). The dungeon is defending with 2/2 stealth, 2/3 (immune to harm). The dungeon has a total stamina of 5. I want to defeat the 2/3 creature. Since it is immune to harm and I only have 2 fire damge I can't defeat this creauture, correct? If it would have been a 2/2 immune harm I would be able to defeat it, correct? (because the 2 fire damage would be enough)?
A: Immunities in DC can be a tricky situation, and how do you manipulate combat to overcome them?
We'll create a scenario where you are facing a bunch of Creatures; Zombie (1pt), Goblin (0pt), Salamander (2pts) and Troll (2pts).
The Dungeon's defense totals 6; 1 Stamina and 1 Armour from the Zombie, 0 from the Goblin, 3 Armour from the Salamander and 1 Stamina from the Troll.
In order to deal a Wound in Combat we'll need to pull together 6 Power. We'll say we have our 4 Adventurers all set for action; Gold Dwarf Warrior, Keldornan Cleric, Gypsy Stormcatcher and Gypsy Thief.
We can get a total of 4 Melee Power (harm) by Activating all of our Adventurers, this it would leave us defenseless, however, our discussion is more about Immunities than defenses. Because the Adventurers have the advantage of adopting the attributes of what they are equipped with, we can manipulate some encounters more effectively.
In our hand we have a Fireball and Short Bow available to boost our Power in Combat.
- Using the Short Bow -
If we bring the Short Bow in to play and Activate all 4 Adventurers (because we're unable to Boost the Short Bow), we'll have a total +6 Ranged Power (harm).
With this we've beaten the Dungeon's defenses and can deliver a Wound. Because the Adventurers take on the attributes of whatever they are equipped with we can not target the Troll, as the Troll's Immunity (harm) will reduce our attack Power to 0. Granted, we can target any of the other Creatures.
- Using the Fireball -
If we bring the Fireball in to play and Activate all 4 Adventurers (because we're unable to Boost the Fireball), we'll have a total +6 Ranged Power (fire).
With this we've beaten the Dungeon's defenses and can deliver a Wound. Because the Adventurers take on the attributes of whatever they are equipped with we can not target the Salamander, as the Salamander's Immunity (fire) will reduce our attack Power to 0. Granted, we can target any of the other Creatures.
- Combining the Fireball and Short Bow -
If we could only Activate 2 Adventurers and needed to use both the Fireball and the Short Bow to reach 6 Power, our options become a little more limited. Putting the Fireball and Short Bow in play and Activating 2 Adventurers means that the attack now contains both (fire) & (harm). Which means targetting the Troll will reduce the Power to being unable to beat the Dungeon's defense, and the same goes for the Salamander. We could still target the Zombie or Goblin, but the Troll and Salamander would be impervious.
- Using the Short Bow, Unboosted & Fireball, Boosted -
In the same scenario if we were able to Boost the Fireball, by having the Wood Elf Wizard in our roster of heroes instead, and still being able to only attack with 2 Adventurers, we fair no better.
We still run in to the same situation where our attack can only target the Zombie or the Goblin effectively - with Area 2, our secondary target for the Area Attack is still (fire) & (harm) as it only expands the attack's range of targets, so the Troll's Immunity remains intact. August 15th, 2016.
Q: We can use Resources from an adventurer already activated?
A: Yes. Unless an Adventurer is Locked, they still provide resources. August 28th, 2010.
Q: What damage type does Magic Resist and Magic Immune prevent? Does this affect (Supernatural)?
A: Check for one of two conditions (source is the introduction.pdf); It MUST be a Magic card type (and have an Attack type that is not harm). OR, it has to have "magic" attributed to its attack damage. Being named "Magic" does not qualify, such as Magic Short Sword. Updated May 15th, 2016.
Q: "Permanent" like backpack - do i pay this Cost just when it comes in game, or each turn it stay in game?
A: Permanents occupy resources as long as they are in play. August 28th, 2010.
Q: Is it correct that a revealed card has to be pulled in to play? e.g. previous turn, a Dungeon card exceeded the Encounter Limit in pionts, so it goes back to the top of the dungeon deck faceup (Flip)? Next turn, this card would be drawn, however when still exceeding the max. pts, it would be pulled?
A: Correct. A revealed card is called a "Flip", this occurs when you have the Encounter Limit or more already in play and have come to the Dungeon Draw Step, instead of bringing the card in to play, you flip it over face up. Face up cards are Pulled in to play on the following turn. August 28th, 2010.
Q: OK, how exactly does Reaver work on Greenknee?
A: Greenknee can only Reaver "Creatures" of cost 2 or less, slight distinction between any Characters and just Creatures. Creatures include Goblins, Minotaurs, Orcs and various other critters - but, not Undead or Spirits.
Greenknee's summons only goes off if he uses Reaver.
Greenknee is strong in decks with a mix of Creatures and Undead, like how the Mummy is. The Mummy's Power is only boosted by "Creatures" not Characters. May 1st, 2012.
Stamina & Combat
Q: Stamina does not add to life then how is it helpful?
A: It is effectively like an armour/evade value. Your Adventurers have a Power/Stamina of 0/0. You have to Activate them and use Crawler cards to give them any kind of a score. An example of Combat:
As the heroes, you attack first!
You attack 2 Ghouls. You require 4 Power to successfully deliver a Wound to the dungeon, because the Ghouls provide 2 defense each for a total of 4.
You Activate one Adventurer which provides +1 to your Power and add in a Longsword for a total attack Power of 5, you have met/exceeded the dungeon's defense and can now deliver a Wound. You deliver the Wound to one of the Ghouls whom remains in play as they require 2 Wounds to succumb to the grave.
Now it is the dungeon's turn to attack.
2 Ghouls attack your Adventurers, they have a combined Power of 8.
Even if you were to Activate all of your Adventurers, you would not have enough Stamina to resist 8 Power from their combined Attack.
Each Adventurer gives you +1 Stamina as you Activate them, you have 3 unactivated Adventureres so you activate the remaining 3.
You then bring a Wood Shield in to play granting you +5 to your Stamina.
Your total Stamina is now +8 Stamina, which meet/exceeds the +8 Power of the Ghouls.
You have successfully defended against the Ghoul attack and suffer no Wounds.
August 28th, 2010.
Starter Set List
Q: What is found in the starter?
Q: Referring to your "target character loses stealth" statement... Would you go to the default ruling in the book if 2 stealth characters are in play (i.e. lowest cost becomes the target) or would you receive freedom to choose between Greenknee and Goblin Thief... Just curious because the ruling is: "can not be targeted, if another legal target is in play", would this revoke your choice of removing stealth from Greenknee since Goblin Thief is in play with stealth and a lower cost character.
A: More specifically a Stealth Character can be targeted by anything, except any Wound resulting from winning Adventurer combat, if there are other valid targets available. May 1st, 2012.
Q: Could someone please clarify the card 'Striding Strike'? The text on it is extremely vague and has at least 3 possible interpretations I've been able to derive from it.
A: If you win Adventurer Combat you can Activate a Character of your choice.
On your attack you do not have to deliver a Wound, just win Adventurer Combat (overpower the dungeon's defenses).
This is great for "tying" up an unstoppable Character that can't be wounded like Slime or Crawling Swarm. If they are activated they can not attack.
It does not even have to be the same target of the Wound should you be able to Wound someone either. August 28th, 2010.
Q: When the Adventures/Monsters attack and win - is only 1 wound inflicted? Some monsters have 2 stamina.
A: Yes, only 1 wound is inflicted. Unless you play other cards to boost the number of wounds. Characters with 2 stamina or more are only wounded once for each combat (without the benefit of cards to enhance this) and will remain in play. Next round you can decide whether or not to finish them off. May 1st, 2012.